Leftover Turkey Chili with Beans

Here’s what we did with the rest of the leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I love my crock pot!

Leftover Turkey Chili with Beans

1 small bag dry red beans (you could use any bean, I don’t like kidney beans), mine were soaked overnight in water

shredded leftover turkey

2 cups water

1/4 of an onion

2 tomatoes (which we had leftover from the Turkey Tacos), diced

Cumin ,Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Adobo seasoning, Red Pepper flakes, Red Chile Powder, Cilantro

now throw it all in a crock pot. Mine cooked on low for 12 hours.

Serve with cornbread (I like jiffy because it’s inexpensive and can be made non-dairy) and add toppings if you want: cheese, sour cream, green onions….whatever you like on your chili.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Leftover Turkey Chili with Beans

  1. I want a crock pot bad – but I havent got enough space to put one anywhere – and I would have to have that bad boy out all the time – pride of place in the middle of the kitchen!

    1. I store mine on top of my fridge. I have a pretty small kitchen. But I love it and can’t live without it. I know they have small crock pots also, but my dudes eat a lot and I like to make soups and stews up in bulk to freeze them for insta-meals.There are SO many things that can be made in them….you can even make bread. I haven’t tried that yet though. It’s on my list of things to try

Leave a Reply

