Self-taught Photography 2

I’m going to start at the very beginning with learning my camera. I turned off the auto focus and am going to be shooting in AV mode (Aperture Priority AE) until I get it down pat. I’ve been doing some research and found some great tutorial websites. These are pretty informative:

http://improvephotography.com

http://www.stuckincustoms.com/hdr-photography/

There is a wealth of “how-to” photography sites out there. One can learn how to do pretty much anything on the internet.

For this first shot, I forgot to check my white balance (which was set to “tungsten light”. I had been playing around with manual focus in my garage. Self note: check all my settings; this is not a point and shoot camera). I started by setting my aperture at F22.

I tried only adjusting the aperture at first, but when that didn’t work I set my white balance to “Daylight”. VA is regularly shady (usually cloudy), but yesterday it was bright and sunny. So I came down 3 F-stops.

You can actually see the dandelion now, but it’s still a little on the bright side so I came down a couple more F-stops.

After working through the whole range of aperture, I decided to see if I could fine tune with the exposure compensation +/- and got these

I love how the stem on the flower pops on this last picture.  I think I captured the details pretty well with the fine tuning.

I like manual focus. I like the freedom of it. Now I need to figure out how to couple MF with the focal points on the camera.

Leave a Reply

