Thoughts from the Back Porch- Self-Taught Photography 1

My best friend is here visiting me from New Mexico, where I’m from. Over the last 20 years the 2 of us have taken innumerable pictures. Basically our lives have been documented in photographs.  We got into scrapbooking for years, but it’s a little expensive….. I’m going digital now.

There was supposed to be a meteor shower overnight: The Leonid Meteor Shower. “The Leonids occur every year on or around Nov. 18, when Earth glides through a diaphanous trail of dust left behind by the comet Tempel-Tuttle” says http://www.space.com/13613-leonid-meteor-shower-peak-1966-storm.html. Fox News had some good info too http://www.foxnews.com/science/2012/11/16/leonid-meteor-shower-peaks-before-dawn-saturday/?intcmp=trending. Peak hours were midnight to 3am.

And so, shutter-bugs to the core, at 1 o’clock in the morning, we bundled up in multiple layers of sweatshirts and coats, set our shutter speed to 30 seconds (I think next time I’ll try the bulb setting) and headed outside.  I have a Canon EOS Rebel T3 and she has the T3i. I’ve had mine since Christmas; she got hers last Tuesday.  She has an 85 mm lens; I have a 55 mm (we all have to start somewhere).

After wandering my pitch-dark backyard in our socks and flip flops and finding nothing, we decided to try our hand at pictures of the stars. My camera was on a tripod; I  got a bunch of blue dots (except one shot that got a little streak). She tried it without the tripod and got a light trail from the neighbors back porch spotlight; (she doesn’t sit still and has the attention span of a flea) you couldn’t even see the stars.

We went in when we realized we were being stalked by a possum. Those are pretty mean critters. It kept running out from under the deck. It wasn’t hissing at us or anything, but I didn’t want to stick around for it.  I have a feeling it lives under my deck. I think it is probably a good idea to look into possum repellant.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts from the Back Porch- Self-Taught Photography 1

  1. Funny…I was looking at the stars around the same time last night, and was *thiiiiiiis* close to getting my camera out and trying my hand at the same, lol. Gotta get another tripod, though…especially for something like that where it’s gonna be open a while. Might pick one up Monday and give it a shot Monday night. Manual focus is probably the way to go with something like this.The night sky is simply amazing, especially out where there are no lights around. It’s humbling…that reminder of how small we are, and how BIG He is. Crazy humbling.

    1. Sweet. Letme see if Jenn wants to go over and so we can do it together. I want to learn the bulb setting. I went manual focus. Actually….I’ve gone completely manual so i learn it all. It was hard to focus though in the dark with a short lens.

Leave a Reply

